Maria-Sama Ga Miteru (Season 1)

Also known as “Maria Watches Over Us” review. There are 4 seasons of this, I will only review the first.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-9hWyLc7s_EI/T0mhDjPc9qI/AAAAAAAAAd4/stIuvAwsAL4/s1600/071006_02+(2).jpg

First off, I was very much tricked into watching this thinking it would have yuri. I mean, I did end up watching this right after I watched Strawberry Panic, so I guess my expectation of it was similar. However even to this day, I still cannot bring myself to complete this and I’ll tell you why.

It’s centres around a new student, Fukuzawa Yumi, to a catholic all girls school. This school has something called a “soeur system” which is basically older and younger sisters paired up. Cold, collected second year student, Sachiko Ogasawara takes an interest int he clumsy, self concious Fukuzawa Yumi (sound familiar?) and makes her Sachiko’s younger sister.

There are also various side-story’s and side pairings, but I’ll get into that later.

I’m first going to tell you why I don’t consider this to be shoujo-ai/yuri.

This was by far, the most frustrating anime for me to watch. Now I’ve sat through subtext before. I’ve gone through subtext and there were quite a few I enjoyed. This was not subtext, for me, this was just false hope.

Nothing happens. Now at first you think “well maybe after 4 seasons SOMETHING will happen.” Nothing happens.

I urge you to honestly stop while you’re ahead.

Let the rant begin.

Overall Rating: 3/10 (More explanation below, but contains spoilers)

Yuri Rating: 2/10

SPOILERS! SPOILERS! PAST THIS POINT. VERY ANGRY SPOILER RANT ABOUT TO HAPPEN

https://i1.wp.com/honya-ch.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/08/gokigenyou-onee-sama.jpg

First, I was really excited. I mean all girls school? CHECK. CUTE GIRLS? CHECK. HEAVY SUBTEXT BETWEEN THEM? CHECK CHECK CHECK.

Some side-pairings are cannon, but uhm….it turns out they’re cousins?

can't hotlink

Uhh yeah…these two are cousins and also have a very heavy…yuri subtext

Cousin relationships seem to be a very popular theme in this anime….

Now I was fine with everything, up until….they introduced the boys school….

THIS GUY APPEARS

http://images4.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20120723020557/mariasama/images/1/17/Maria-sama_ga_Miteru_-_03_-_The_Moon_and_the_Rosary-(011512)09-56-48-.jpg

Kashiwagi Suguru

“What’s wrong with him?” you ask.

He’s Sachiko’s cousin. Wait it gets worse.

He’s also Sachiko’s fiancee, through an arranged marriage.

Wait, it get’s even worse.

Sachiko loves him.

Commence table flipping.

https://i1.wp.com/t.qkme.me/3ozcew.jpg

WHICH IS WHY I HATE THIS ANIME SO MUCH. IT GAVE ME SO MUCH FALSE HOPE.

THERE’S ALSO HEAVY SUBTEXT THAT KASHIWAGI AND YUMI’S TWIN BROTHER, YUKI, HAVE A THING GOING ON AT THE NEIGHBORING BOYS SCHOOL……..

hhas

YUKI

COMMENCE, MORE TABLE FLIPPING.

https://i1.wp.com/i.qkme.me/3psyjq.jpg

And thus why I cannot get past season 1.

In fact in one episode, where Yumi finds out that the two are fiancee, Sachiko CRIES because he might not love her.

FUCK YOU, MAN.

4 Seasons of that shit? NO THANKS.

There are a couple side yuri couples, like the two cousins I mentioned. There’s some subtext with Yumi and Rosa Giganetea since she’s always teasing Yumi they should “go on a date”

https://shoujoaireviews.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/rosa_gigantea2.jpg

That’s about it though T_T

And that is why I HATE when people recommend and categorize this as a shoujo-ai/Yuri anime. It’s not. It’s false hope. I BEG PEOPLE TO PLEASE STOP RECOMMENDING THIS ONE.

Your only pleasure from this anime will come from fan fiction. There aren’t even that many…

This anime is so heavily reliant on character composition, there is no real story line, as in plot. Each episode features something different that reveals something about the character each episode. Which is why it makes me mad that there’s no actual Yuri. If it had subtext and a plot, I’d be like “sure”. But it doesnt. It solely relies on the characters, which is why the false sense of Yuri content makes me pissed.

Thus the rating,

Overall Rating: 3/10

Yuri Rating: 2/10

2 thoughts on “Maria-Sama Ga Miteru (Season 1)

  1. I love seasons 2 to 4. Season 1 at least had Sei’s flashback and stuff so it isn’t as terrible as some make it out to be, just not a good first impression of everyone.

  2. This is indirect subtext but more on sisterly/bossom friend love though. I love the series. But, it’s more like slice of life series so expect more slow pace and character driven. It’s a heart warming series to watch/read. The anime is more rushed, try reading the translated light novel would probably give a different feel and give more explanation to some of the character’s actions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

