Dandelion Among Lilies (2013 – 2014)

AKA “Yuri ni Tanpopo” written and drawn by Yamaguchi Serika

https://i2.wp.com/cdn.myanimelist.net/images/manga/2/97503.jpg

The story begins with Fuji Kana, a girl who had just broke up with her boyfriend. Surprisingly, she receives a call from her sister, Mizuho, asking to stay with Kana for a bit, but she brings along her special someone. That special someone turns out to be a girl! The story changes and begins to go through the challenges what Mizuho and her girlfriend have gone through when being a gay couple in Japanese society.

It’s a good story, no straight plot, and is much more on the serious side of things. It’s pretty short (only 6 chapters) so this won’t be super extensive, and there isn’t too much to judge when it comes to the ratings. I did dock a couple points on the Yuri rating because…well….with out spoiling anything, plot. It’s quite minor, but I couldn’t bring myself to give it full points.

Art: 7/10

Yuri Rating: 8/10

Overall Rating: 9/10

WARNING THERE ARE SPOILERS PAST THIS POINT

yntLike I said, it’s a pretty short story. It was kind of painful going through both of the sisters point of view, but at the same time I understand it. It is pretty much about being in the closet, but a more realistic approach to it. It goes beyond young love, it goes for the troubles of being lesbian “forever” in that kind of society.

The story is very character driven, so the plot all happens in the past rather than the present.

I docked a couple of points for art, just because it’s not…out there. It’s not the most beautiful I’ve seen, but still pretty acceptable. I do think the eyes or hair artwork has something to do with it. It’s quite simple looking.

As for the Yuri rating, I had to dock a couple when Mizuho was in her young age, trying to forcefully get that gay guy to give up on her “boyfriend”. My face was 😡 but not as angry since I know she ends up as a lesbian in the end.

Over all, it was a pretty good story and a good short read. I enjoyed it.

Art: 7/10

Yuri Rating: 8/10

Overall Rating: 9/10

One thought on “Dandelion Among Lilies (2013 – 2014)

  1. I read this after other stories like Octave and Midnight Flowers so this didn’t blow me away as much as it did you. I’ve read several adult themed yuri manga before this one already. Most of them have the “It’s hard being a homosexual” storyline like Midnight Flowers, Candy, Blue, Prism and others. Realism doesn’t concern me. I’m more about believability myself. It was still a good read regardless so yeah.

Leave a Reply

